

Staff Council Standing Committee Minutes

Committee Name: Executive

Meeting Date and Place: July 29, 11:00 AM - 12:30PM; Teams

Members Present: Ivan Olay, Amie Ortiz, Grace Faustino, Carla Sakiestewa, Grace

Faustino, Amy Hawkins, Sierra Kowalski, Frankie Flores,

Excused Absent: Frankie McQuerry, Damion Terrell, Bonnie Minkus Holmes

Guests Present: Jessica Serna, Sharina Desai

Minutes Submitted by: Amy Hawkins

	Subject	Item	Notes
1.	Call to Order		11:04AM
2.	Approval of Agenda		Approved.
3.	Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes	7.22.24	Approved.
4.	Indigenous Peoples' Land and Territory Acknowledgement	Founded in 1889, the University of New Mexico sits on the traditional homelands of the Pueblo of Sandia. The original peoples of New Mexico – Pueblo, Navajo, and Apache since time immemorial – have deep connections to the land and have made significant contributions to the broader community statewide. We honor the land itself and those who remain stewards of this land throughout the generations and acknowledge our committed relationships to indigenous peoples. We gratefully recognize our history.	Read by Ivan
5.	New Business	 Roundtable Funding Event Request: Bicycle Registration Event: Sharina presented the request and gave some updates about the second event to be mainly sponsored by North Campus, answered questions. Grace shared that the digital items were received and should get back to Sharina today about those. Funding and Event Request was approved. Amy will work with the committee to purchase items. Finalize feedback for Angi re: Bereavement Leave Resolution: Exec reviewed and discussed different aspects of the policy, shared their support and comments. Amy will send the feedback to Angie. 	

	 Discuss viability of reviving Ad Hoc Parking Committee and different recommendations including meeting with Parking, staff, faculty and a student rep on a regular basis; that HSC Parking is completely separate from Main and North Campus parking. Ivan will add to next meeting agenda with Parking director (Carla joining). Exec also discussed action item of Westside rapid ride. Ivan and Carla gave an update about their meeting last week with Sean. Compensation committee resolution: unfinished business for August's meeting. Update on Drone project: Grace reported on South campus images being completed; North Campus will be done in August. President's Report: President Olay reported on meeting with the provost including discussions on benefits, tuition remission for CNM, legislative process, and the general economic health of the staff all of which he is very supportive of; EVP F&A including safety on campus and connecting with Clery working group and UNMPD to work with them regarding Lobo Alerts. Speaker's Report: Speaker Ortiz will get the priorities sheet to Exec soon and consulted on committee appointments. See below. Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Sakiestewa reported on developing historical data and excited about request such as the one approved today for the Bicycle registration event. At Large Report(s): No updates. 	
Announcements	Next scheduled meeting: 8.05.24 Damion will be on leave July 25-Aug 12; Aug 26-30	
Action Items	 Drone Project. Index is secured; action items in the works (see Roundtable update from Grace). Westside to UNM direct line rapid ride (used to have this but stopped during the pandemic) What can we do to help staff with food insecurity? Perhaps working with UNM Food and new catering company. 	
Adjournment		11:59AM

Communications & Marketing Committee

SC-COMMCMTE-L@list.unm.edu

Grace Faustino (Chair) Marcus Anderson

Jennifer Chamberlin Payne

Irene Gray

Winton Wood

Rewards & Recognition Committee

RANDR-L@list.unm.edu

Grace Faustino (Co-Chair)

Bonnie Minkus Holmes (Co-Chair)

Yadéeh Sawyer (Co-Chair)

Marcus Anderson

Jennifer Chamberlin Payne

Jennifer Kavka

Joseph Lane

Andrea Quijada

Candy (Candelaria) Romero

Frances Salas

Strategic Planning

Joseph Lane – Chair

Deena Duran

Grace Faustino

John Shaski

Sustainability Committee

SCENVIROSUSTAIN-L@LIST.UNM.EDU

Sharina Desai (Co-Chair)

John Shaksi (Co-Chair)

Marcus Anderson

Lauren Bell

Ryan Edgington

Alison Kionka

Joanne Kuestner

Joe Lane

Michal Mudd

Carla Sakiestewa

Yadéeh Sawyer

Quinton Valencia

Mary Clark (ex-officio)

Anne Jakle (ex-officio)

Ivan Olay (ex-officio)